EFC19 | European Fuel Cell - Past edition 2013

Past edition

Rome, 11-13 December | Fontana di Trevi Conference Centre
440 participants from 25 Country


Welcome to Rome and to the 5th edition of the European Fuel Cell Technology and Applications "Piero Lunghi" Conference. It is an honour for us to host you and we are pleased to say you will be enjoying the company at this event of over 250 colleagues and leading experts in the wide field of fuel cells. Covering the entire spectrum of research, development, demonstration and deployment, 137 lectures and 100 posters have been selected for presentation of the latest achievements and updated perspectives in fuel cell technology.


Fuel cells are improving unstoppably, not only in terms of efficiency but also in durability and reliability, and are now decidedly edging into the market. EFC13 reflects this as can be seen from the increased number of reports from real-life applications of fuel cells and fuel cell-based products. Also the increasing research activities on the use of fuel cells for producing chemicals taking advantage of anode and cathode local conditions to enhance specific reactions for the production of H2, CO, H2O and so on are widely represented.


The core part of the event stays focused on material development, lab tests and modelling as well as looking at innovative fuels, fuel processing and system design. Environmental issues specifically addressed in certain fuel cell applications will be part of the "decarbonizing society" track. Once again, many new ideas and concepts are offered for presentation at EFC13, with a special full-day session dedicated to the evolving world of microbial fuel cells.


EFC13 constantly strives to increase the awareness of fuel cells in society at large as well as to push forward the boundaries of research and development in the field. Complementary side-events will be held in conjunction with this 5th edition of EFC13: the international workshop "Integrating Numerical and Experimental Approaches for the Design of Next Generation Fuel Cells" on 10th December 2013; the national event (in Italian) "Hydrogen and Fuel Cells: what opportunities for Italy?" on 13th December 2013; as well as the Microbial Fuel Cells Session on 12th December 2013.


To combine the compulsory dissemination activities of European projects (e.g. FCH-JU) with the benefits of networking and the leisure of an evening drink, the "project cocktail" session has been introduced to allow the presentation of project progress and comparison of results, scheduled after the lectures of 12th December. Finally, our beautiful congress location will give you immediate access to the very heart of the Eternal City, making up an unparalleled backdrop to what we hope will be a profitable stay for you and a successful meeting.


Angelo Moreno
Conference Chairman



Angelo Moreno, ENEA (Italy)
Viviana Cigolotti, ENEA (Italy)
Stefano Ubertini, University of Naples "Parthenope" (Italy)



Günter R. Simader, Austrian Energy Agency
Tzvety Bogdanov Tzvetkoff, University of Chemical Technology and Metallurgy
Frano Barbir, FESB - University of Split
Per Balslev, Dantherm Power A/S Denmark
John Bögild Hansen, Haldor Topsoe
Tiina Koljonen, Technical Research Center of Finland (VTT)
Michel Cassir, Chimie Paris Tech (ENSCP)
Valentina Vetere, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique (CEA)
Deborah Jones, Université de Montpellier
Alexander Michaelis, Fraunhofer-Institut für Keramische Technologien und Systeme, IKTS Dresden
Thomas Pfeifer, Fraunhofer-Institut für Keramische Technologien und Systeme, IKTS Dresden
Ludwig Jörissen, ZSW
Tsiakaras Panagiotis, University of Thessaly
Mauro Scagliotti, RSE Spa
Aristide Massardo, Università degli Studi di Genova
Francesco Di Mario, ENEA
Ennio Macchi, Politecnico di Milano
Maria Giovanna Minutillo, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli "Parthenope"
Umberto Desideri, Università degli Studi di Perugia
Angelo Basile, ITM-CNR
Sergio Ulgiati, Università degli Studi di Napoli "Parthenope"
Fabio Orecchini, Università degli Studi di Roma 1
Vincenzo Palma, Università degli Studi di Salerno
Cesare Pianese, Università degli Studi di Salerno
Barbara Bosio, Università degli Studi di Genova
Rodolfo Taccani, Università degli Studi di Trieste
Pierluigi Leone, Politecnico di Torino
Nicola Massarotti, Università degli Studi di Napoli "Parthenope"
Luca Andreassi, Università degli Studi di Roma "Tor Vergata"
Andrea Casalegno, Politecnico di Milano
Massimo Santarelli, Politecnico di Torino
Vito Di Noto, Università degli Studi di Padova
Pierangela Cristiani, RSE Italy
Koichi Eguchi, Kyoto University
Kas Hemmes, Delft University of Technology - TU Delft
P.V. Aravind, TU Delft
Carmen Rangel, LNEG - National Laboratory of Energy and Geology
Vasile Stanciu, The National R-D Institute for Cryogenics and Isotopes Technologies - ICIT
Iordache Ioan, IC SI-Rm Valcea
Anatoly K. Demin, Institute of High Temperature Electrochemistry
Dimitry Bronin, Institute of High Temperature Electrochemistry
Stanko Hocevar, National Instutute of Chemistry of Slovenia
Suk Woo Nam, Korea Institute of Science & Technology (KIST)
Jaeyoung Lee, GIST
Javier Brey, Abengoa-Hynergreen
Garcìa Luis Alberto, TECNALIA-Energy
David Sanchez, University of Sevilla
Justo Lobato Bajo, University of Castilla-La Mancha
Antonio García-Conde, Spanish Hydrogen Association IEA HIA
Bin Zhu, Royal Institute of Technology
Carina Lagergren, KTH
Goran Lindbergh, Royal Institute of Technology
Olivier Bucheli, EFCF
Fehmi Akgun, TUBITAK Marmara Research Center
Cigdem Karadag, TUBITAK Marmara Research Center
Atilla Ersoz, TUBITAK Marmara Research Center
Mike Blundell, Coventry University Enterprises (CUE Lt)
Vladimir Molkow, University of Ulster
Abdelkader Hilmi, Fuel Cell Energy
Whitney Colella, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
J. Robert Selman, Illinois Institute of Technology 



Karl Föger, Ceramic Fuel Cells Limited (CFCL)
Min-Fang Han, China University of Mining and Technology (CUMT)
Hongmei Yu, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics
Jari Kiviaho, VTT Technical Research Center of Finland
Detlef Stolten, Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)
Christian Sattler, DLR - German Aerospace Center, Vice-President of N.ERGHY
Alberto Ravagni, SOFCPower Spa
Lorenzo Cusinato, EES Engineering & Energy Service Srl, ATR Group Air Conditioning S.r.L.
Gianni Bidini, Università degli Studi di Perugia
Elio Jannelli, Università degli Studi di Napoli "Parthenope"
Marcello Capra, Ministero dello Sviluppo Economico
Takao Watanabe, Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry (CRIEPI)
Kenchiro Ota, Yokohama National University
Tae-Hoon Lim, Korea Institute of Science & Technology (KIST)
Luis Correas, Hydrogen Aragon - Foundation for the development of new hydrogen technologies in Aragon
Subhash Singhal, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
Sunita Satyapal, DOE
Mohammad Farooque, Fuel Cell Energy Inc.


EFC13 #01  EFC13 #02  EFC13 #03  EFC13 #04  EFC13 #05  EFC13 #06  EFC13 #07

EFC13 #08  EFC13 #09  EFC13 #10 

picture_as_pdf Download EFC13 final program

Organized by

Università degli Studi di Napoli - Parthenope
Università degli Studi di Perugia

Supported by


Join our
Mailing List

Click and complete the form to join EFC Mailing List.